This is something that I found in The Light of English (journal).

A man came home from work late – tired and irritated – to find his 5-year-old son waiting for him at the door.

“Daddy,” the child said, “may I ask you a question?”

“Yeah, sure,” replied the man.  “What is it?”

“Daddy, how much do you earn an hour?”

“That’s none of your business,” the man said angrily.  “Why do you ask such a thing?”

“I just want to know.  Please tell me how much you make an hour.”

“If you must know … I make 500*rs an hour.”

“Daddy, may I borrow 200rs please?

The man said furiously, “If the only reason you asked that is so you can borrow some money to buy a silly toy or some other nonsense, then you march to your room and go to bed.  Think about why you are being so selfish – I work hard every day for such childish behaviour.”

The boy quietly went to his room and shut the door.  The man sat down and started to get even angrier with the boy’s questions.  “How dare he ask such questions only to get some money?”

This is not the way things should be ...

This is not the way things should be ...

After about an hour or so, the man had calmed down, and started to think: Maybe there was something he really needed to buy with that 200rs and he really did not ask for money very often.  The man walked up to the little boy’s room and opened the door.  And he asked, “Are you asleep, son?”

“No, Daddy,” the boy replied.  “I’m awake.”

“I’ve been thinking, maybe I was too hard on you earlier.”

“It’s been a long day and I took out my aggravation on you.  Here’s the 200rs you asked for.”

“Oh, thank you, Daddy!” said the boy with joy.  Then, reaching under his pillow, he pulled out some crumpled bills.

The man saw that the boy already had some money and started to get angry again.  The boy slowly counted the money and looked up at his father to hear him say, “Why do you want more money when you already have some?”

A perfect family!

A perfect family!

“Because I didn’t have enough,” replied the little boy.  “Daddy, I have 500rs now.  Can I buy an hour of your time?  Please come home early tomorrow.  I’d like to have dinner with you.”

The father was crushed.  He put his arms around his little son, and he begged for his forgiveness.

We never realize how important our time is for our loved.  They are the real treasure we have.  Try to cherish them.  Money can never take their place.

NOTE: *r = rand (South African currency)

