It’s better to be unhappy alone than unhappy with someone.


Marilyn Monroe (1926-1962)

Marilyn Monroe (1926-1962)

I believe everything happens for a reason.  People change so that you can learn to let go.  Things go wrong so that you can appreciate them when they are right.  You believe lies so that you eventually learn to trust no one but yourself.  And sometimes good things fall apart so better things can fall together.


Beneath the make-up and behind the smile, I’m just a girl who wishes for the world.


I’m pretty but I’m not beautiful.

I do sin but I’m not the devil.

I’m good but I’m not an angel.


A wise girl kisses but doesn’t love, listens but doesn’t believe and leaves before she is left.


Imperfection is beauty.  Madness is genius.  And it’s better to be absolutely ridiculous … than to be absolutely boring.


A wise girl knows her limits.  A smart girl knows she has none.


I don’t mind living in a man’s world as long as I can be a woman in it.


When it comes down to it, I let them think what they want.  If they care enough to bother with what I do, then I’m already better than them.


Well-behaved women barely make history.


The truth is I’ve never fooled anyone; I’ve let people fool themselves.  They didn’t bother to find out who or what I was.  Instead, they would invent a character for me.  I wouldn’t argue with them.  They were obviously loving somebody I wasn’t.


Hollywood is a place where they pay a thousand dollars for a kiss and fifty cents for your soul.


No one ever told me I was pretty when I was a little girl. All little girls should be told they’re pretty, even if they aren’t.


The real lover is the man who can thrill you by kissing your forehead or smiling into your eyes or just staring into space.


It’s better for the whole world to know you, even as a sex star, than never to be known at all.


Dogs never bite me … just humans!


It’s not true I had nothing on, I had the radio on.


A girl worth kissing is not easily kissed.


If I’d observed all the rules, I’d never have got anywhere.


Dreaming about being an actress is more exciting than being one.


I knew I belonged to the public and to the world, not because I’m talented or even beautiful, but because I had never belonged to anything or anyone else.


I don’t know who invented high heels, but all women owe him a lot.


Young & Beautiful

Young & Beautiful

People respect you because they feel you’ve survived hard times and endured, and although you’ve become famous, you haven’t become phony.


An actress is not a machine, but they treat you like a machine – a money machine.


I don’t mind making jokes, but I don’t want to look like one.


I’m very definitely a woman and I enjoy it.


The body is meant to be seen, not all covered up.


I’m for the individual as opposed to the corporation. The way it is the individual is the underdog, and with all the things a corporation has going for them the individual comes out banged on her head. The artist is nothing. It’s really tragic.

Monroe at Niagara Falls

Monroe at Niagara Falls


I am involved in a freedom ride protesting the loss of the minority rights belonging to the few remaining earthbound stars. All we demanded was our right to twinkle.


Acting isn’t something you do. Instead of doing it, it occurs. If you’re going to start with logic, you might as well give up. You can have conscious preparation, but you have unconscious results.


I have feelings too. I am still human. All I want is to be loved, for myself and for my talent.


A career is wonderful thing, but you can’t snuggle up to it on a cold night.

